Loch Leven Heritage Trail

By bike, time to head to a trail I have wanted to cycle round since before covid struck, the Loch Leven Heritage Trail.

Just over 12 miles long, a circular track around the loch through fields, woodland and loch side. ‘Polly’ was dismantled (front wheel removed) then placed gently inside our wee Chevy.

My starting point was at RSPB Loch Leven at Vane Farm on the south shore of the loch. We’d been there the previous week with our grandson and enjoyed our walk around the immediate area.

The weather forecast was as I normally would like, cool and sunny, makes for a pleasant ride due to the type of landscape I’d be cycling through.

Bike put back together and set off on a clockwise direction along a path between fields, passing a couple of hides, there are no great climbs or drops on this trail which makes it suitable for all, it was narrow in places so the occasional stop to allow either walkers or fellow cyclists pass by. A mixture of woodland and fields to start and not before long I was coming into the outskirts of Kinross before heading towards Loch Leven pier and its small boat harbour. Many happy memories came flooding back of the excitement of getting to cast a fly on the loch. Best fish was an 8lb 4 oz rainbow trout, not a natural fish but stocked at a very small size and with the rich feeding grew on quickly. I stopped at the boathouse just for old time sake but it was time to head down the eastern side of the loch.

The area was busy in the sunshine and the path was busy with walkers so I just cycled along slowly and enjoyed the odd view of the loch as I passed through a mostly woodland path, the path was in excellent condition (got a bit bumpy on one or two sections), I tried to pick out the areas at the side of the path where the whin dust had washed down to.

I stopped at ‘Factors Pier’ where 100 meters off shore I had my ‘battle’ with the rainbow trout. Funny part was I had travelled through on my motorbike with all my equipment strapped to my bike and a small rucksack, I had to ask a pal to take the fish back home for me.

I could hear the occasional light plane engine as I was heading down the eastern loch side and saw one at a low altitude passing with a glider towing behind. I carried on through woodland and came on a road heading to sluices, not long after I saw I was almost back at the starting point BUT ‘the fairy’ had visited my front tyre, being under half a mile away, I decided to ride on the flat sections and push on the rough parts of the track. I had texted ahead to say I would be a little late LOL.

Arriving back, I just broke the bike down and said I’d repair the p u n c t u r e the next morning at home.

If I had been further out, I’d have just replaced the inner tube, 10 min job the next morning.

My thoughts?

Yep, enjoyed it immensely, a well maintained track which I found to be well used.

I had a coffee and cake the back home via the Queensferry Crossing, next trip out?

Heritage Trail information HERE

RSPB Loch Leven HERE (a small car parking charge applies)