Ballachulish to Connel Bridge

Almost 12 months of very little but local activity and I get busy again, this time we’ll head to Argyll and the Ledaig area just north of the Connel Bridge.

Mrs M had asked any cycle rides in the area? Five mins later, ‘Aye, Ballachulish to the Bridge’, ‘Okay’, and ‘A journey through Glencoe to the start’. We never refuse any excuse to venture to Glencoe, see previous blog posts HERE and HERE. We headed across country on well kent roads in glorious sunshine and soon the big Buachaille came into view nary a cloud overhead. The laybys showed empty cars which meant the hills were busy with walkers, glances en route showed many walking NW on the West Highland Way.

Glencoe was its usual magnificent self, I get a shiver every time we pass through past the towering mountain scenery on both sides.

Leaving the glen behind, we soon arrived at the car park at Ballachulish.

Polly was set up and ‘I’ll see you in a few hours’, Mrs M headed S. I wondered what types of surfaces I would meet enroute, it turned out to be well kept exceptional easy ride along 95% tarmac path and tracks. I was started on the ‘shared’ pavement band before long I had crossed the road and was enjoying sea views along an excellent tarmac path. Gentle easy path to start but when preparing the route for my Wahoo I did noticed a few sharp ascents and soon it was the first test Cameron’s Brae, it was a gradual steep climb out of Kentallen before heading back down to and along the converted old railway path, this section is a mix of woodland, open countryside and pavement. A pleasant breeze most times in my face, original forecast was for a NW breeze but oops, it was the opposite which was more welcoming on a such a warm day. I stopped occasionally to enjoy a biccy or two and drink, no need to hurry.

Passing Duror, I was soon on the ‘hairpins’ the highest ascent gain on the trip but an easy paced ascent. At Dalnatrat, it was back to the pavement side of the main A828 road, once again a road crossing and excellent views of the Isle of Shuna where just after, I stopped to view Castle Stalker which sits on a tidal island on Loch Laich, a brief history of the castle HERE, famous as used by Monty Python in a well kent scene ‘the castle aaaargh’ then it was back inland past Appin on the ‘railway’ path to next cross the road bridge at Creagan. I remember many years ago having to travel round the head of Loch Creran as this was once the site of an abandoned railway bridge.

Barcaldine was my next port of call and winding past the village, I knew my destination wasn’t that far away, cycling along an excellent wide roadside path then another shared pavement towards and through the familiar village of Benderloch then a divert down through the caravan park where I spent many weeks in the ’80s. A stop to reminisce and enjoy the view before leaving and cycling up past the airfield, is it Connel Airfield or Oban Airport? Ordnance Survey says ‘Oban Airport’…..

I’d arrived at the bridge, and following the rules, I walked Polly over the bridge and enjoyed a descent to the small car park near the bridge above, ideal for access to watch the Falls of Lora at low tide which are impressive. I stopped my bike computer, 29.4 miles, oh, so off to turn it to 30 mile as you do.

Did I enjoy it? yep, part of the Caledonia Way which I had planned for 2018 but I will cherry pick sections of it. I just have to convince Katie….

The final section Fort William to Inverness already ridden HERE

Where next (after a big birthday) ?