Gummer’s How……and Dumyat.

We had decided mid September on a short visit to the Lake District in the middle of Ocotober, grandparent duties on hold due to school holidays.

I was asked the usual silly question ‘Any fells planned?’, ‘Aye, I could have a couple in mind.’

Earlier in the year I had some very minor lower leg problems which had been affecting my cycling and any planned hill walks but I got lazy, I guess and had cut back on my walks and mostly my cycling trips.

I had chosen a couple of what I’d call lower Fells, Gummer’s How with its views south to Morecombe Bay and Dent not that far from our base at Cockermouth.

The rucksack is always ready to go (handhelds charged on a monthly basis). The forecast wasn’t that great for the three days, the middle day looked most promising with threats of sunshine and no showers.

Heading south was into deluge after deluge of rain with the odd sighting of blue sky but as we had time to spare, we decided to head to Ambleside for a replacement ‘slate’ sheep, this was to have been the middle days jaunt as I would walk up Gummer’s How whilst the XYL would hunt out the sheep.

After a stop in Carlisle (and needing tyres replaced (need to up the checking of these), we carried on our way on the country route rather motorway to Penrith and west towards Keswick, first.

We headed past the rising slopes of Helvellyn, had a quick visit to Grasmere then on to Ambleside.

Little ‘slate’ sheep found, next ? ‘We’ll nip down and check the car parking and access point to this fell’..

If the weather had improved I would have nipped up and did a late afternoon SOTA activation but no.

We arrived and took the steep side road up to the car park area which certainly cuts off a fair bit of climbing from the main road, half a mile it said on the signpost for the fell.

I set the sat nav and it said 42 miles back to Cockermouth, oops, and as it was to have been our middle day jaunt, XYL says not a problem, 84 miles for 1 point, eh.

A bright sunny Thursday morning and we left back down the same road, being regulars in the Lakes we had hoped a jet could fly overhead, later we saw one but 15 secs after the camera had been packed away, typical.

I got kitted up and headed through the gate and as normal this one had a cracking path before heading up some ‘stone steps’, at the top of these, right for an easy walk round to the summit but I took to light scrambling towards the summit and its trig point.

I was met at the top by 360 degree views which with the cool air was superb for such a lower fell.

I took some photos and the usual panorama before setting my station up, I had alerted for 10.30 UTC and had arrived in plenty of time.

2m FM was tried first and I had nine contacts, as far S as North Wales (120kms), Merseyside (100kms), quite pleased for that. The fell had a stream of others out for the views. I headed back down to the left and the ‘stone stairs’ and back to the waiting car.

The above, summit is obvious and the locations worked.

Weather wasn’t looking too good for Friday and I’ll catch Dent on my next short visit south.

Great to be in the Lakes again

, could make this a regular occurrence.

Arrived back home and emptied the rucksack, charged batteries and packed it away for the next time which turned out to be 5 days later, this time a return journey just outside Stirling to Dumyat, the second nearest Marilyn to me. This would be my third activation of the hill but like the previous time I would take the well maintained path on a country road between Bridge of Allan and Sheriffmuir, I did the ‘directissimo’ from Blairlogie on my first ascent but the ‘tourist’ path is definably the easy way.

Car parking is usually busy but today it was quiet (until I arrived back). I set off and an hour later I arrived at the summit, the views to the west to north on a clear day are excellent and I could make out many familiar hills but I tweaked something in my ankle on the last push but just slowed down (age really). Photos taken then it was down to radio, I had 14 contacts on 2m FM which in midweek is excellent, furthest was a contact in Maryport, Cumbria (170 kms,) others ranged from Wolfhill to the NE and Skelmorlie in the SW and Edinburgh. I’ll take that especially after the initial calls had no response.

I caught with some contacts I hadn’t spoke with in years, between Gummer’s How and Dumyat, enjoyable. Covid has killed the last couple of years.

The hill started to get busy so I packed everything away and headed down the hill to meet Katie who had walked up to meet me (but not offering to carry my rucksack). I met a constant stream of families out enjoying the ascent and the excellent weather, a hill worth a visit if you are in the area, Stirling also has lots of touristy spots to visit, check out yourStirling

Two hills in a week, excellent. I hadn’t being doing much walking since Scald Law last year and it showed, 2023 will see a revised walk and cycle regime with more walking. (early resolution?)

The tweaked ankle just has to repair and I think maybe a Pentland or Fife hill next, oh boy it didn’t work out, as putting up a picture frame at home, I naturally stepped off a chair, ouch.. More rest required.