Into the Pentlands

Time to get out again…..Where?

A new hill I think so I’ve been having a look at the Pentland Hills area.

More specifically Scald Law, at 579 m (1,900 feet) the highest point over the range.

It was time to get going and do a Scottish SOTA activation before the end of 2021, I’d visited Dale Head in the Lake District in August (see previous post).

It was one of these random moments, ‘Can I go activate?’,

Scald Law

I’d overnight to get everything ready and batteries charged up. I keep a rucksack of radio equipment packed and ready to go, I always have a check just in case…..

I’d often eyed these hills as we drive along the motorway to Edinburgh so preparatory work like checking parking spots, access to the hill and GPZ track if available on to my GPS (backup option), OS maps printed off etc. Google Maps is a boon for this.

I’d noted that on one walkers report that on this road (A702) the traffic moves at high speed, it certainly was the case, just a heads up when drawing in/out from the parking areas.

Sunday morning arrived with blue skies, sunshine and a chill in the air, a perfect day for it and I posted an online alert that I had hoped to be operating at the summit approx. 12.30 local time so off we headed, 50 mins later I was setting off through a field in glorious sunny weather. An easy first half to the walk in before a sharp ascent to where the side path for Scald Law branches off, the path was busy with walkers in both directions, just through the gate there were icy patches in sheltered parts of the path. The path is in good stead and I had worn my hiking shoes for this.

Excellent path

A steady slog then I arrived on the flat, spacious summit with its trig point, its white paint now fading away.

I’d taken just over 50 mins to reach the summit, that’ll do for me.

I chatted with others who arrived at the same time, most folk were doing the circular walk which would wait for another day.

Time to set up, as I assembled the 2m beam, I gave a call out on the 4m (70 mhz) band and a call back from a nearby station in the west part of Edinburgh, a good start. I pegged out the mast and pointed the beam west, I had a quick check and could hear the RSGB news being read, I assume it was Chirnside to the SE of me.

Looking NE

I called out on 2m (145 mhz) and steadily worked 8 stations covering an area from Howwood in the west to Edinburgh and NE into Fife, by this time the wind chill was getting to me, I got a fleece jacket out my rucksack and plodded away calling but no more takers, I thought I’d give 70cm (433mhz) a try and one call back from Dunfermilne.

Contacts locations from Scald Law

In the end, ten contacts , eight on 2m, 1 each on 4m and 70cms, excellent.

Carnethy Hill and beyond

Made the round trip worthwhile, in ’22 I think a return on a warm summer day and a longer session.

The sun had shone with the odd cloud in the sky but a steady breeze and the chill it brought, I thought time to break down and head off the hill. A quick call to Katie and soon I was heading down just enjoying the descent, I arrived at the main path and noticed the decorated slate I’d seen on the way up wasn’t there, I opened the gate and there it lay in pieces on the path, see Gallery below.

Why? in such a spot too.

Once back onto the lower access path, I could see the Chevy sitting waiting on me.

Longlea reservoir

A warm, heated car and a hour until back home.

Heading back

I found lots of information on the walks available in this area, just google Pentland Hills.

Scald Law,

Wikipedia has some info on the naming of HERE

The Kirk Road as mentioned on the waymarked image post see HERE

Impressive views from the summit