Mmm, Where Today?

Arbroath, I think.

Polly was sitting all nice and cosy in a dry garage recovering after her Monday tea time run from Newtyle up over Collace, Abernyte, whizzing down The Braes, Inchture and another run along the Carse. An enjoyable leg stretch followed by a swift descent to almost sea level and a race for dinner.

I’d a day off so the legs would be fresh for an explore. I’d preplanned this one and the Polar had the route in its memory. I’d probably and wing it even as I had studied the route well, or so I thought, more on this bit later.

Invergowrie Bay

Invergowrie Bay

The sun was shining and a light SW breeze was at my back as I left Invergowrie on NCN 77, I took a detour down through Riverside Country Park which was busy with pets and their owners. I could see both Tay Bridges and the hills of Fife to the south of me.

Passing Dundee Airport I’d a quick look through the boundary fence to see mostly private small planes and one prop plane. One or two small planes took off while I was there.

Onward along to Riverside Drive but I’d a few diversions due to sea defence work going on. I stopped to look at the stone memorial to those lost in the Tay Bridge Disaster HERE, I’d earlier passed the scene of another major rail accident at Invergowrie HERE.

I carried on, avoiding the ongoing works and arriving at the Tay Road Bridge, I couldn’t resist the chance of a quick dip of my feet in Fife then back across. You access the footpath by using a lift, I like that and I headed across and back on a shared path running along the middle of the bridge,

Tay estuary

Tay estuary

On the return, I could see the waterfront of Dundee back west to Invergowrie and beyond, I’d head east after I descended the lift and looked for signage to get me on my way, the signs now said NCN 1, It carried me along the back streets of the dock and arrived a what I thought was a dead-end fence, I saw a button and pressed it and the gate opened and I was on my way thinking ‘Mmm, am I allowed in here?’ A blue ‘1’ sign let me know I was, I reached the other end and an automatic gate let me out, a quick wave to security and I was on my way.

I didn’t have time this visit but I must make time and visit both the Dundee Heritage ships, the ‘Discovery’ and ‘Frigate Unicorn’, I passed the RRS Discovery Point Centre and the boat in its dry dock with scaffolding around the stern of the ship, history of the boat HERE. The Frigate Unicorn is not too far away at its berth in nearby City Quay, history and info HERE

Looking to Broughty Ferry

Looking to Broughty Ferry

It was now onto a quiet stretch of road before reaching a shore path into Broughty Ferry, I could see Broughty Castle ahead. I stopped to have a drink and have a quick look around. It was now to head NE, the Esplanade was busy with mid-morning walkers, I kept a careful eye for signage, I’d been known to miss plenty in the past.

A steady breeze blew across me which was welcome as the day was warming up, the track so far was flat although that would change on my return journey over the back country roads of Angus. The track now took me past Monifieth with the golf course between me and the town, plenty of golfers were out taking advantage of the fine weather.

Carnoustie

Carnoustie

I stopped at the entrance of the military area at Barry Buddon, my ‘squeaky’ brake bought out the sentry. I could hear rapid gunfire in the distance. I had a quick chat before heading on my way through wooded areas until I reached Carnoustie. I’d a blip as I never noticed the sign, a quick ask for directions and it was on my way, I missed an obvious sign, Doh!

I entered the track which would take me along through the hallowed links of Carnoustie Golf Links, famous as one of the Open venues.

I soon made my way past and headed up and along a shore path with views out into the North Sea,  I met the odd dog walker and passed by West Haven taking a quiet path until East Haven, I spotted a CBM under the bridge so a quick log, photo and the next stop was Arbroath.

B10202 East Haven, Railway Bridge

B10202 East Haven, Railway Bridge

This part of the path gave the sense of remoteness but still an excellent surface to pedal along, I occasionally could see the remains of concrete anti-tank cubes placed along the shore during WW2 HERE.

It wasn’t long before I could see the town of Arbroath in the distance, I headed along Eliot Links, where I’d my first holiday away from home a half century ago, a 2-week camp. It hasn’t changed much, the burn I tried to catch small fish had a bridge now.

Looking to Arbroath

Looking to Arbroath

I wouldn’t be heading into town but a cut back along a busy main road before heading northwards up past a retail park before winding through country roads to first Forfar (although this wasn’t the original plan), I reached RM Condor high above the town before heading through Woodville and onwards to Carmyllie, this is where I messed up, I blame the lack of road and direction signs, honest!  I should have carried on the west but no, I headed along quiet roads until I reached Redford, west this time joining the B9128, Forfar it was. I passed through Craichie,  soon after I was enjoying a swift descent into Forfar, I reached a junction, a quick look and I recognised where I was, not too far from the local football ground. I stopped for a bite to eat from a supermarket, I also bought a bar of chocolate. I intended to ration it a small piece a mile but it never works out that way, does it?

I was now almost on the homeward stretch (or back to Newtyle), I headed out towards Glamis, I joined a rough pavement for most of the ride but soon reached and bypassed the village and took a country road passing through Eassie, Balkeerie then past the entrance to the Den (see earlier blog post), Newtyle was only minutes away.

56 mile logged, I had to look and I could see where I’d gone wrong but hey, that’s what life is all about.

I headed the opposite journey a week later almost the original route but via Glamis, back roads through Charleston, Gateside, Inverarity, Whigstreet then a downhill run into Carnoustie then a reverse on NCN 1 and 77 to Invergowrie, there was a strong headwind this time which made it a bit less fun but It was well worth the visit, I’ll be back? you bet!

40 odd this time.

Thanks go to Wikipedia and any site I have linked to, all photos can be embiggened with a click.