Third Day In the Carse area……Kinpurney Hill

Kinpurney Hill.

On the previous day’s cycle around the area to the north/west, I could see the tower on the summit from every possible direction, and on the final stretch before Newtyle, I thought tomorrow.

Nearly 40 years visiting the area, always threatening to climb the hill but never getting round to it, I had time to spare and on such a crisp, spring morning, why not?.

Den Path

Den Path

If you are visiting the area to climb the hill, there is no parking at the entrance to the Den.You can park in the village, it only involves a short walk. See the end for parking information.

I was lazy and got dropped off.

A slight breeze, blue sky and the sunshine, what more could I ask for.

Newtyle

Newtyle

I set off up the steps and entered the Den, the start of the path to the summit, a woodland area alive with birdsong, I could see Chaffinch, a pair of Grey Wagtail flitting down the burn, low water due to the recent dry spell. I could hear a Jay ‘screaming’ and caught a quick glimpse but I’d left the binocs at home, tut. The Den has steps and gangways across wet areas, The path obviously well-kept and free from litter, with benches to sit and enjoy the tranquillity. The wood floor with its patches of wood anemone and occasional wild primrose. A slow gradual rise through and I soon opened the kissing gate on to the open hillside.

Kinpurney Tower

Kinpurney Tower

The path which you can see from lower is more just trampled grass, I assume used by the local farmer on a quad bike but today with the recent dry spell, an excellent walking surface, the village started to show as I ascended, another gate to pass through, There are regular marker posts to follow. It is steeper in places but today with the cool breeze and views made it all worthwhile, a handily placed bench as the tower starts to show to catch the breath if needed but I carried on.  Not before long I could see the tower as I approached the easier ground near the summit, sheep scurried everywhere. I had made the top.

The Tower is joined on the summit by a trig point and viewfinder. Hills visible on a good day are the Lawer hills, Ben More, Schiehallion, Beinn a’Ghio, Glas Maol, Lochnagar among many others, unfortunately, it was a bit hazy.

The Tower built in 1766 by James Stuart-Mackenzie.  I’ll refer you to a blog with an interesting twist on the reason for the Tower HERE. It was built as an observatory.

I had a quick bite to eat and a drink about then set off down.

Tower and TP4242

Tower and TP4242

I’d grabbed a couple geocaches on the way down, not planned but phone internet got patchy the near the foot of the descent. I found the surrounding area a dead spot for calls and mobile internet. Beware.

I was up and down in less than two hours but it would be a perfect place for a leisurely day out with a picnic.

To finish the day, I grabbed the bike and repeated the previous day’s run around Strathmore with a slight difference, a wry smile as I saw the hill en-route.

Further info on this walk and others in the area, the Newtyle Paths Network are available in leaflet form from the local store in the village on North St. there are 5 in total covering walks and the wildlife of the area. A good buy, full of information, local history and helps fund further work, please support  HERE

Further info on the walk and tower HERE

Parking info.

There is a designated area at Commercial Street in the village, there is parking available at the Park. A short walk of a kilometre from the village to the Den but no footpath so take care.

Usual rules, click on the image to embiggen.

Newtyle walks map

Newtyle walks map