It’s been ages…..

Wow, I didn’t realise how long since my Dumyat post..

We are still slowly coming out of lockdown and hopefully moving back to some sort of normality.

I did ‘activate’ Cairnpapple Hill last Oct (2020) on a whim, Mrs M was heading over to Livingston so I asked to be dropped and picked up on her return. Cairnpapple is the easiest ‘Marliyn’ to access in Scotland. It took 5 or was it 10 mins to the summit, I did avoid the scheduled monument just to the N and setup nearby.

It was midweek so it was surprisingly a few stations replied to my calls on VHF.

The image below will show their locations (I know the mountain symbol LOL)

I’ll take that midweek, I’d worked seven stations on 145 MHZ and one on 70 Mhz….

That was to be my final SOTA activation in 2020 BUT the following Sunday it was off to the (Kingdom of) Fife to near Ballingry and the ascent of 365m Benarty Hill, I’d started off up through dense woodland and when I reached open ground, I stopped at a rough ‘stony’ area to let others pass down, I moved then felt (and heard) something go ‘pop’ in my left calf.. not good so on the phone and call Katie to come back and pick me up, I took my time descending, oh well, hopefully I’ll return soon.

Further serious Covid-19 lockdowns took place so the bike was a good way to escape the house, I still played radio on the high spots I’ve found whilst out and about. Handhelds in the handlebar bag for a call with the occasional chat, a good excuse to stop after long slogs uphill.

I tend to be impulsive when out on the bike, if I see something I’ll just detour to see it, one morning as I was heading out with no route in my head, I got a text about a giant iron Roman head on nearby Croy Hill, I had seen it high above the canal path previously but this time I headed off the canal path and made my way using a very steep rough path and finished by pedalling my way to the top..

A week later a little further up that road, I saw an easier path in, oops.

Impressive with stone markers with other information at its side.

A good viewpoint and I got local info about a rough path which would drop me down to Auchenstarry Marina back on the Forth & Clyde Canal, I then headed west to check out another replica marker stone in nearby Twechar village. One more to find so it was off to near Lambhill Stables on the outskirts of Glasgow. I keep threatening to explore the many fort sites along the Antonine Wall, so more to follow.

I have a few go-to high spots where I have a call out on a VHF handheld radio, one on the road east from Carronbridge has flung up some interesting contacts, I’ve highlighted those (see below) who have been on high spots operating, I have other regulars I chat with in the nearby built up areas.

There are other spots I stop to call at, this one has an excellent take-off east and south west.

I give calls out on 2m(145 mhz) and 70cms (433 mhz) but higher hills to west restrict me in that direction but I’ve another stopping point at the Tak me Doon car park which dominates to the south and west. It’s a well known climb but I access it from the north, a much easier (?), still a few testing sections but a welcome stop.

Further areas include SE of Cumbernauld, west of Shieldhill amongst others.

I’ve my fishing permit for the Forth & Clyde Canal but haven’t organised myself yet, I think I’ll wait until late autumn before I start but I’ll stop occasionally on the bank and chat with anglers just to find out info on best areas to fish, I’m interested in small fish, the canal holds good stocks of pike and tench but for travelling light on the bike, I’ll stick to roach and perch. Wonder how Mrs Mhor will take to me keeping the odd tub of maggots about LOL.

I did spot this method of fishing which could appeal

I could pass time this way…

On the same day I headed out towards the Falkirk Wheel and up over to join the Union Canal, the tunnel at Roughmute had been closed and they have installed new lighting, the camera enhances the light and it changed colour every so often, one snap below

Disco lights

On my way there, I came across this

Someone’s upset

I assume it is directed toward walkers rather than cyclists on what is a busy section of towpath, there are other similar ‘instructions’ spray painted further along the path, someone is upset.

Whilst I am at it, I’ve included my ‘wheel’ of 2020 rides.

3,000 miles plus I was happy with it considering circumstances.

My thanks to Veloviewer.

© Veloviewer

I’m well down on last year but am in four figures now, hopefully rack up the miles in the last half of ’21.

Have taken to doing some veg growing in tubs, I’ve potatoes, onions in bags, amazing growth in the spuds but I don’t think I’ll harvest much. Tomato plants, both cherry and regular plants, I’ve trusses showing on every plant, interesting and have possibly found the variety I’ll grow next year, I had sown some seeds mid April which was I’d say far too late but the spring onions were a success along with peas which have been picked weekly for the pods.

We have strawberry plants which aren’t mine but still producing very juicy medium berries.

I haven’t grown anything in almost 30 years so I’ll be better organised next year and any lessons learned will be put into practice. I’m still hoping for some spuds but we will see.

Back soon…..