‘We could go for a drive?’

10.20am…’What you doing today, bike?’

‘Dunno, I’ve been out almost every day for the last three weeks, my legs are asking for a break’

‘A drive then?

‘How about a walk up Conic Hill?’

‘Eh, okay’

10.35am… we leave home.

Luckily, I’d my handhelds all charged up, just for when. Rucksack packed in readiness.

12.04.. we set off from the car park at the base of the hill.

Lower forest path

Lower forest path

We’ve had unseasonable weather the past month, temperatures reaching 30C and the last rain was mid June. I’d a screenshot from my bike computer of 91F two days earlier. 91? not often that happens but I’ve found I was getting used to the well above average temperatures. Today would be helped by a cool NW breeze near the top.

We turned through Balloch, headed to Drymen where we headed down to Balmaha.

To the top

To the top

The car park was full, boots on, a last minute check and off we headed through the  cool forest section before heading up the open hillside and a stepped path, we kept moving to avoid the plague of clegs(horseflies) that were in the area. A slow ascent meeting those returning, this hill is always busy, with many accents and ‘ages’ today.

I spoke with two North American couples as we ascended. It was busy even on a Friday lunchtime..

The breeze, we reached at the point where you turn to head parallel to the hill’s north flank, a well-worn and dusty wide path today, Dusty, a word unknown in any walking done in Scotland. This  part of the path is also part of the ‘West Highland Way’ .There a few ‘tops’ to this hill, the first couple as you get higher are the ones for the magnificent views of Loch Lomond.

Loch Lomond south basin

Loch Lomond south basin

The highest point is 361m (just under 1,200 feet). The summit on this top is bare after being trod on over the years, I found a grassy area just off its summit to set up the portable mast and beam antenna. I decided to have a call on 4m FM first just using the handie and the centre loaded antenna, nothing, nada, came back to my call. I had expected it could be quiet as weekdays and especially sunny days, people are not stuck in the house but after a few calls it was on to 145mhz.

Looking N

Looking N

Quiet at first then a call from Paddy IPO in Paisley, followed by Ken NTX south of Stirling, Graham GHM was mobile at Prestwick Airport, finally the hill got qualified when Steve XPZ in Greenock returned my call. I had alerted that my time on the summit would be short. I kept calling on 4 and 2 for another 15 mins but nothing, no more takers.

Looking to Arran

Looking to Arran

I switched everything off, broke down the antenna and mast, packed everything in the rucksack and headed to get some photos before descending back the same route. I counted over 40 people on this summit plus a constant stream of people moving up and down the hillside. I spoke with those who had shown an interest in what I was up to.

Luss Hills

Luss Hills

A gentle descent and soon it was back through the cool forest section and the car park. Kudos to the local council who make no charge for this car park, I dread to think the charges in other areas. The loos are now a charged one in the Park Authority building.

The car was like an oven and as we waited, I asked ‘Fish and chips?’, ‘Aye, lets go!’

Soon we were in Balloch tucking into haddock and chips, lovely.

Heading down

Heading down

An hour later, back at home, ‘I know some other hills you might enjoy!’

Still waiting on a reply……

I’ve done SOTA(Summits on the Air) from the hill before

The first in 2009 HERE

For full image, click on to open in a separate window.