Red Screes and, the regular

I’d missed my previous annual trip to the Lakes due to family commitments.

Once all was over we contacted our regular base but full rooms and work then called for Mrs. M. No problems this time as we are both now retired but we decided to just head down at our regular time.

If possible with the Lakes, a watch on the WX forecast hoping to catch four decent days in a trot. A quick call and we back at our regular base in Keswick.

I’d 2016s maps and routes printed off and loaded on to the Etrex. I’d a few weeks earlier taken a day off the bike and made a now annual visit to the summit of Beinn a’Mhanaich just to test the legs, a little ache the next few days. I think a lack of serious walking played its part.

Two hills, four days to get them in, if possible.

I had a late change of mind en-route and thought Red Screes from the top of Kirkstone Pass, any excuse for an after walk pint.

Kirkstone Pass summit

Kirkstone Pass summit

We headed down on what looked not too promising with varying weather en-route and as we crossed the border, light rain was falling. A stop for breakfast then to Penrith and then down past a tranquil Ullswater before ascending Kirkstone Pass.

Red Screes trig

Red Screes trig

Wispy cloud was scuttling over the upper part of the route and literally as I stepped out of the car, a military transporter came roaring overhead. It was the first of a few planes that day out practicing low-level flying. I’d arranged I’d get picked up later on either The Struggle or in the town of Ambleside.

Looking down the Struggle

Looking down the Struggle

There had been torrential rain in the area the previous day but there was no evidence on what is a steep sharp ascent of just over a mile, a 1200 ft rise in height, with a good path and the odd light scramble but easily ascended. I met a lad who had just left before me with his young ‘un in a carry-pack on his way back down ‘ A couple of minutes will have you at the trig’, just under 50 mins of my usual slow pace I was standing drinking in the views at the summit trig point.

Middle Dodd and beyond

Middle Dodd and beyond

A photo shoot, 360 video before setting up the radio equipment and antenna. A quick bite to eat then it was ‘CQ’, I worked 17 stations, first one was in Liverpool on 4m FM, the rest on 2m FM calls on 70cm FM went unanswered. I’d worked in Wales and an almost 300km contact into Gorey, Co.Wexford in Eire.

Looking across to Helvellyn and others

Looking across to Helvellyn and others

Half way through, I heard the scream of a jet coming up the pass which flew below me followed by a slower training plane.  Two days later, the flyby would be more exciting.

Rydal Water

Rydal Water

90 mins later, I broke down and packed everything away. Time for the rest of a late lunch and speaking to a couple who told me they were geocaching,  we headed just off the summit to log the cache.

I left and head down a gentle descent path towards Ambleside with views to Windermere in the distance, a steady, slightly damp in places with a few crossings of glaury mud with a constant stream of people ascending the track. The previous day’s rain had left its mark and my boots were deciding to get wet. I took the odd detour to try stay dry. I soon came to the gate which leads you on to The Struggle.

One thing I don’t like is walking on the tarmac after a hill walk. Wires crossed with Katie who has returned to the drop-off point, some one (me) had given the wrong direction after a text, the wee red car drew up and we were on our way back to Keswick.

The next day, I felt the regular ache in my thighs, an easy day doing tourist stuff but I would go and get new boots fitted the next morning, a pair of mid leather boots now lying downstairs with a layer of wax waiting for the next outing, the old boots placed in a recycle bin outside a local shoe shop.

I swithered all day as to whether the other hill was a possibility on our last day, I’d sleep on it. I woke early and although I still had a dull ache that I’d visit my favourite fell,  Dale Head. You can see why in the panorama video at the end of this post.  It was up over a busy Whinlatter Pass, Newlands Pass then over to Buttermere, which are the most picturesque roads in this area, a narrow track in places but worth the stop start effort.

Local sheep

Local sheep

One of the endearing things about the lakes is Herdwick sheep. Buttermere and the slopes of Honister Pass did not disappoint. Cyclists passed on a hill I would love to have a go at, from the west, yes. from Borrowdale, no. One bloke on a fat bike towing a young ‘un on his bike was at the base, they cycled over the Pass summit two hours later, I’m told.

At the summit of the pass, it was into the Honister Mines car park, Mrs. M could have a look around the shop, we have slate everywhere at home and I wondered what we would be taking home this time.

Boots on (the new ones) and off across on to the path and upwards.

As you rise the views down Honister and across to Fleetwith Pike, Brandreth and on to Great Gable come into view and the air clarity was good, I made steady time, I tried slowing my ascent but legs felt okay. I spoke with a couple of walkers on their descent and soon was on the last stage of the ascent when I saw the now familiar summit cairn.

The view towards Skiddaw and the north never tires, standing at the edge where the north slope fall quickly away, is stunning.

Dale Head cairn

Dale Head cairn

A chat with more walkers and it was time to set up the radio station and I used the handheld to call on a WOTA station across the Pass from me on Brandreth, a quick chat and I threw up the 4m JPole but as the previous hill, only one contact, Jim in Berwickshire. I made STS (summit to summit) to two stations activating Pikethaw Hill north of Langholm in the Scottish Borders. In total, one Welsh contact in Cardigan and the rest to the S and SW.  12 contacts in total, the station who had been on Brandreth was now on Grey Knotts so another WOTA contact.

I called and made arrangements to get picked up but no problems this day on my descent. A quick change and it was a return trip heading N and home. Time to rest the legs but no flare up the following day.

Oh, and the fly past?

Three jets in order came screaming up Honister Pass and veered dramatically to their right at the top of the pass heading towards to the left of both Green and Great Gable and as they disappeared, a solo jet flew the same route. Amazing how they twist and turn at these speeds.

Red Screes 360°

 

Dale Head 360°

The hill I ‘missed’? first in line next visit!

Treated me to one of these HERE