Local Quirks

I’m always keeping an eye out for any photo opportunities when I’m out on the bike, here are some of the quirkiest things I’ve come across this west of Glasgow.

I think I’ve cycled every side and back road in this part of Renfrewshire, I see a track, I have a nosey, more often it just goes to a farm or dead-end. About turn and back out.

The ‘quirks’, two are on the same stretch of road, one I’d describe as a gazebo (Google said it was), one a ‘metal’ plaque which has become obsolete by thoughtless later planning (IMO) and the others? an odd thing in an obvious place, a stair which ends halfway down, another ‘Rest and be Thankful’ and an ornate fountain.

the-stone-throne

the-stone-throne

I’ll start with a ‘odd thing in an obvious place’, a ‘Stone Throne’ found at the top of Gallahill Rd, high above Langbank. I’ve been over that way recently ‘enjoying’ the Wall’, an 11% average short climb on the road heading west. A Strava segment makes a mention of ‘Stone Throne‘, I took this to be a reference to a local landmark but it took a few visits to realise what. I’ve taken photos but they do not do this man-made ‘throne’ any justice. It’s positioned at the apex of two steep ascents on this country road and has excellent views in a 270-degree vista.  A place to sit, enjoy the views N and W.  A work of rural art, perhaps.

gazebo at barnbeth rd

gazebo at barnbeth rd

The gazebo is next to Barnbeth House in what I assume was an old orchard but the land is presently being built upon, the gazebo shows the ravages of time, a fixing of the broken slates, a repaint and voilà.

Hopefully, it will be restored to its former glory, I’ll keep an eye. I’ve another post or two of ‘oddities’ in the pipeline so if repaired I’ll post an updated image.

Golf course plaque

Golf course plaque

Slightly further along the same road which splits a golf course, you come to a stone with a ‘silver’ metallic information plate, it stands at the 16th tee on the roadside. The tee named ‘Rothesay Pier’ see HERE

It has inscribed all the 54 hills and landmarks that would have been seen at one time from this viewpoint. Tree planting has taken place over the years and has obscured most of the views west and north. Course management coming into play. Someone has filled in the lettering with black paint at one time but unfortunately, only traces remain although the plate is perfectly readable. I normally stop there for a water break before dropping down into Ranfurly.

stairs to?

stairs to?enlarge

The stairs that go nowhere, cycling between Kilbarchan and Lochwinnoch on NCN 7 in a cutting, there is a set of metal stairs (with handrail) but as the photo shows they just stop. On a closer inspection, there is a small concrete square in the rock face near the old track so I’m assuming at one point the stairs have been cut to the present level to prevent unauthorised access the logical explanation. Why not remove them completely?

the other

the other

Mention ‘Rest and be thankful’ and thoughts immediately go to the road which winds its way up from near Arrochar and drops down to Glen Kinglas, this one is a stone built shelter on the Beith Road as you pass through Johnstone, it was reputedly built by a local worthy in the 19th century.

the fountain

the fountain

Finally, I recently was on a geocache hunt which took me into Fountain Park near the centre of Paisley, I came across this ornate and colourful fountain, walruses guarding, cherubs holding crocodiles, dolphins, herons among others.Oriental? I’ll let you see more about it HERE and HERE. An impressive statue of Robert Burns stands nearby.

Thanks  to Wikipedia and the sources I have linked to. Click on images to enlarge.

rabbie

rabbie