7? 5? 3? No It’s The 1 Ferry route….

In Scottish cycling, there are the well-known 3, 5 and 7 ferries routes. I did the three ferries last year so this time I thought something different, the One Ferry…

Yoker ferry

Yoker ferry

Not an awe-inspiring title but nonetheless a varied route taking in areas to the east I haven’t explored until today, I thought as an extra having a tasty lunch at the Braehead Shopping Centre.

This involved all the extras, the Etrex 30 with maps which worked a treat as cycle paths marked clearly, I set up the SJ4000 video cam for some time-lapse en route, the usual extras in the pannier and of course, info on a few geocaches to bag whilst out in the Braehead area.

I left just as the school traffic started to build as I headed down to the lower part of the town. I cycled along the pavement which runs parallel to the A8 east bound. I passed through the quiet village of Langbank with the obligatory stop at the only traffic light, I have never got through without being stopped, typiske!.

Canal lock

Canal lock

I then took the narrow path which takes you through what was the old A8 before a quick break for a swig of water and it was up the Hatton Brae then a drop into Bishopton where I would head out to the Erskine Bridge. It’s a slog up what for once was a cleanish cycle track before dropping down the other side before a quick exit left then sharp right and down the paths through Lussett Glen.

Heave!

Heave!

I headed left before a sharp right down the old Ferry Road, the sign said ‘Glasgow’ and I cycled east along the Forth and Clyde Canal on an excellent surface, I soon had to cross the A814 at Dalmuir but I took time nip over to look at the nearby Beardmore sculpture thinking that the dandelions and overgrown grass spoiled the look slightly.

I stopped to have a quick look at the Dalmuir Drop Lock and still on an excellent surface headed towards Clydebank Shopping Centre passing the ‘chippy’ boat, Damn, I was too early although I could have grabbed breakfast rolls. I knew I soon I would have to leave the track along which since Old KIlpatrick had only the odd patch of broken glass to negotiate to head down to Yoker to catch the ferry of the title.

The road was busy and I headed down a cycle lane was as usual blocked with parked cars on occasion but soon, I was at the ferry terminal waiting on the ferry. I’d used the original old red ‘clanky’ ferry in the early ’70s on regular trips to Drumchapel.

Surprisingly roomy, I sat and the journey time was short and sweet.

Off and up the slipway before heading east and through Clyde View Park before heading along the walkway behind Braehead picking up 6 geocaches as I travelled. I came across this statue hauling the bow of a ship (see image). I sat for a break at the end of the walkway before setting the video camera and heading homewards via some more new ground for me. I headed back along the walkway before heading across towards finding a path which follows the river along the Renfrew Golf course before coming out at the swing bridge over the Cart. As I was about to exit this path, I saw a fenced off couple of stones, stones? not really but one is the Argyll Stone and the other is the St. Conval Chariot, I’ll let this be explained more HERE. A geocache is in the vicinity but I failed at this one, any excuse to return, eh?

Argyll Stone

Argyll Stone

It was out along the main road bound for Inchinnan but I headed next for a lay by where planes fly low as they come into land at Glasgow Airport, noisy as you would expect.

A slight breeze was in my face as I headed back on to the road and it was a left down through the industrial estate at Inchinnan before it was time to head along the Georgetown Straights but today, I decided to cut across Moss Rd to Linwood then to the Route 75 cycle track, I was 10 miles from home along what is well-known ground for me.

40 miles in the bag, my longest of ’15.

I’ve included the two time lapse videos I took en-route, the first is from the start of the Erskine Bridge until I arrive at the Renfrew slipway, the second is from Braehead until I reach the viaduct at Bridge of Weir.

These are better played at the ‘best available’ quality, HD if possible.

About gm7something

64, married, three kids......overweight, unfit, folically challenged, need I go on ?
This entry was posted in Oot'n'Aboot. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 7? 5? 3? No It’s The 1 Ferry route….

  1. ncmncat says:

    A really interesting write, Bobby, amazing what you find when off the main roads. Where you took the photo of the ferry, Cat lived just behind you in Bulldale Street right beside the factory. (Block of flats NE corner of factory)

    Enjoyed that one as I do the rest.

  2. 2m0iob says:

    A good change to your normal routes, a trip into the Big Smoke is well within your reach now. Just watch Mrs Mhor doesn’t have you bringing stuff back from IKEA strapped to your bike! Well done.

  3. gm7something says:

    Thanks for the comments, lads and lassie.
    I enjoyed that run and it is now on the Mhor list to return and do more regular, a varied and excellent mixture of road and track plus plenty of food stops if needed. A good circular run. I must try the ‘chippy’ boat next time.Just for the carbs, you understand!!!

  4. ncmncat says:

    Oh! Travel sick watching your videos! 😦

Comments are closed.