(Sept/Oct) Radio Days….

Boy am I well behind with this so I’ve done a double batch of delight (or not)

Sept..

A busier month than most….

Activations..

Four in all.

Three to report from Wales and an earlier one on Ben Donich.

Donich was more of a testing of a recurring knee problem I’d been carrying for weeks and with the Welsh trip nearing, it was time to see if it would hold up as I thought better to know then than half way up a hill down south.

We headed south mid Sept on the now annual DXpedition to North Wales where we based ourselves on the edge of the Snowdonia region. Our main aim was of course, Snowdon. Five days away but three hills activated, the aforementioned Snowdon, Tal Y Fan and Holyhead Mountain on the Isle of Anglesey.

The weather wasn’t as kind on the first two hills as we had hoped with high winds and rain but we finished on Holyhead Mountain in glorious sunshine. It was an enjoyable five days in mid Sept.

Reports on each activation are

Ben Donich HERE  Tal Y Fan HERE    Snowdon HERE     Holyhead Mountain HERE.

Ben Donich from Beinn an Lochain © Neil 2MØNCM

Ben Donich from Beinn an Lochain © Neil 2MØNCM

I had intended to activate a summit special to me as soon as I passed the milestone birthday age of 60 but the Welsh Trip took preference, I’ll make the hill one day….

Chasing..

A normal monthly chasing wise for me with chases for SOTA, WOTA and the Summitsbase HuMP programmes.

First in the log for Sept was fellow blogger Neil 2MØNCM who travelled NE to activate Ben Chonzie on what was a busy day on the GM hills as next bagged was Jack COX on Dungavel Hill.  Robert GUF was on his regular hill, Tinto followed by Bob AWV who was on Black Combe in the SW lakes area. The last contact was on SSB, Paul PJD who was taking part in if I remember correct a RSGB contest that afternoon. I spent some time trawling the SSB part of the band after that but nothing. Paul was on Culter Fell to the S of me. Five STS’s in all so a good trip out and a good start to Sept.

Neil was next out on Fiarach, NE of Crianlarich which brought me closer to my achieving 3,000 chaser points. The following day this was achieved when I caught Robin PKT on the first of his three hills that day Carn Liath, Iain WJZ who activated The Brack, a hill in my plans but not this year and next was Rob YTS who turned up on Stobinnean. Robin PKT finished off the day secondly on Braigh Coire Chruinn-bhalgain then finally on Beinn a’Ghlo – Carn nan Gabhar, these activations moved him past 6,000 pts, an incredible amount considering I have 250…I’ll never catch up though.

To finish off Sept, Rob YTS appeared on Ben Chonzie and last one in the log was PKT on Garbh Bheinn whom I caught whilst out ‘caching’ on Greenock Cut.

A good month pointwise.

The WOTA contacts all with Richard JTD on the Wainwright fells of first Bowfell, this one was from Snowdon and Harrison Stickle, Pavey Ark and Thunacar Knott on the return journey home.

Glaslyn

Glaslyn

The HuMP contact was whilst on Snowdon where I worked Sean PZO on nearby Moel Tryfan.

Oct…

A quiet month possibly more to the weather than my apathy.

Only three contacts and first was Neil 2MØNCM on both Ben Vorlich then on the neighbouring hill of Stuc a’Chroin and later that day Graeme MMØHLQ appeared on Ben Venue. Graeme got the views that day which escaped me on my 2011 visit.

Mention is made of October’s weather which had been very wet but still relatively mild. The first snow seen from the home QTH had been late Oct in 2012 but for 2013, it was at the beginning of Nov when Ben Lomond was topped but as I write the snow level on Chaorach and a’Mhanaich is roughly 1,600 FT ASL but is quickly creeping higher as the temperature rises.(it has just disappeared quickly as daytime temperatures rose)

HF..

The higher bands have sprung into life especially mid October onwards with contacts being made regularly into North America as I try to add the states I am missing for WAS. I’m slowly getting there. The grey line shows some interesting listening on 10m. I’ve concentrated on 10m after work but it is a short window timescale.

I still have a look through the bands from 80m upwards.

Cycling…

Still pounding the highways and byways of Renfrewshire and one trip across to Argyllshire, post HERE. The weather has been variable and I try to catch dry weather where possible but have suffered more than my share of pedalling heavy downpours. I don’t mind the rain but combined with anything above a stiff breeze isn’t much fun.

Conic Hill

Conic Hill

Odds and sods…

I’ve read another of Mike Parker’s ‘the Wild Rover’ which I found funny and worth recommending. The book HERE. I’ve also just re-read ‘In search of Robert Millar‘ by Richard Moore, a complex biography about the rise of Scotland ‘s own King of the Mountains, Robert took the ‘KoM’ jersey in the Le Tour in 1984 an incredible achievement. I read most of my books now on a Kindle or on my phone and find it a bit OTT for VAT being paid on digital books, another tax on enjoyment. I still buy ‘real’ books and have a pile sitting behind me still waiting to be read but feet up in the works van at lunch break and its kindle time LOL.

It will soon be another year over and plans being made for next year but radio may be playing a smaller part in these.

I have used Amazon to link for the books I recommend but there are other suppliers.