(May) Radio Days….

May flew by for me and before long we were into June.

On the activation front, I revisited Ben Bowie on a miserable cloudy day. I managed 8 STS (summit to summit) and over 20 contacts. On the day, I managed to do 7 geocaches en route to the summit and back. This helps me have an extra wee break on the ascent, a good idea, no?.

Ben Bowie from Gourock ferry terminal

Ben Bowie from Gourock ferry terminal

My blog post HERE

Chasing…

This month was quiet for me as I just kept missing everyone, I spent one weekend away oop NE and radio banned but my location wouldn’t have been good so ‘nil point’.

To start the month, first logged was Robin PKT on a Tues evening activation of Na Maoilean just the NE of  Connel Bridge, a good line through the hills mean that contact on this hill is no problem as sometimes if I feel it might be a struggle I will quickly throw up the 5 ele yagi in the front ‘postage stamp’ as this makes a notable difference.

Meall nan Tarmachan © Neil 2MØNCM

Meall nan Tarmachan © Neil 2MØNCM

Next worked was again Robin on the summit of Meall an Fhithich, a Marilyn just to the S of Ben Cruachan, this hill was activated in what turned out to an awfy windy day, I thought I had missed Robin but managed the contact in the end. I was to work him again the next day from my summit of Ben Bowie, one of the 8 STS I mentioned earlier but first in the log that day was Colwyn YCJ on North Berwick Law, followed by Iain WJZ on Beinn Narnain, Robin on Beinn Odhar, Neil 2MØNCM and his son Alan NLA on Meall Nan Tarmachan, Graeme 2MØGIL on Cruach Tairbeirt, Iain (again) on Beinn Ime and in between that lot I was scanning the band and heard Gerald WML on his activation of Snowdon, a hill I hope to activate in Sept. As luck would have it, he heard my call and we exchanged all info with no problem, a cracking contact from ‘wee’ Ben Bowie. I also heard a YL station activating Red Screes at the top of the Kirkstone Pass in the Lake District but she never heard my ‘break’ calls so I’ll happily take the Snowdon points.

Beinn Ime

Beinn Ime

Finally only one more contact, it was the PKT show this month as I caught him on Ben Challum just to the N of Crianlarich.

A quiet month by my standards but still enough to keep the chasing total moving slowly upwards to 3,000.

Other..

I’m still wasting my time on the data section of the HF bands anywhere from 30m to 10m and still logging contacts Europe wide with the occasional one to other far-flung places. I spent a lot of time using JT9 but mixing it with my normal use of JT65. These modes are now my choice but a wee rest from the others means I can attack them with fresh vigour in the autumn months. SDR is in abeyance as I have promised myself to make it my winter project but there is so much happening in the RTLSDR world that it will take me awhile to get back up to speed on it. Dark nights now booked.

Seeing as this month’s radio work is short and pretty dry this month, I have picked some of the photos from my caching exploits and put them into a gallery, I have visited some areas I haven’t been in years and finding out some other memorable spots which are hidden gems such as the ‘stone’ bridge in the Locherwood woodland area.

I know some of you are avid readers and I have just finished Jonny Muir’s excellent book of his journey around the UK’s 92 historic County Tops, the title is ‘Heights of Madness’, a worthwhile read, too much cycling for me ! I wonder if he had a gel saddle ?. Lance recommends them.

My thanks go to Wikipedia, Peakbagger and other site I have linked to. Once again I’ll point you in the direction of the excellent Viewfinders Panorama website where panoramas of many Scottish peaks is listed, click HERE

To embiggen any image, just click on and see them in full size and my thanks to Neil 2MØNCM for his kind use of his Meall Nan Tarmachan image.

Gallery infos..

Locherwood Community Woodland bridge

Situated in the aforementioned wooded area, entrance and car parking at NS 325640 on the B786 between Kilmacolm and Lochwinnoch.

The Knapps from high.

Situated just E of Kilmacolm at the junction of the A761 and B788, two parking areas, NS362684 and NS 362681, this path is well used by dog walkers and the expected mess around the start so watch thy boots. A recommended short walk.

Guarding the cache.

This is a cycle track sculpture midway between Kilmacolm and Bridge of Weir, I would recommend parking in either village but will leave the choice to you as it is a good lazy walk either way but parking at either the Pullman pub, Kilmacolm or the car park outside the Ristorante Amaretto, Bridge of Weir is handy for food and a drink either before or after or you can be like Lance and use the track which is accessible from Glasgow and its environs through the cycle track network.

Big Soo (Grouse Railway).

I did a blog post on this last year of a visit made by Roddy 2MØIOB and myself. This will give you more info and you may want visit the nearby ruins of Duchal Castle, more in the blog post HERE

Barnbeth walkway.

This pleasant short walk is just outside Ranfurly and I parked at approx NS 367643.

Pool on the Rotten Burn also Fall on Rotten Burn (Black Linn).

Situated just off the Old Largs Road, you carry on (from Greenock) past Loch Thom where the road now turns into a narrow single track and find the parking space at approx. NS 251643 or carry on until the Rotten Burn bridge where better parking is at NS 249689.

Lochar Bridge Falls.

The falls are seen from the Locher bridge just E of Bridge of Weir on the A761 at NS 400647.

The Bedrock Bike.

Situated on the cycle track near Howwood ( no jokes about being Brian’s bike).

Ring of Stones.

Situated in the Johnstone area just off the cycle track. see this blog post for further details on both HERE

4 responses to “(May) Radio Days….

  1. A short one this month indeed, but with your recent activations etc I’m sure Radio Days for June will be a good long one. Keep up the writing style, it’s enjoyed by most, if not all :-).

  2. I ‘booboo’ed’ and published before I had written most of the blog piece.
    It is now totally finished but you know me I may add more as I go…
    With my ‘connections’ to three literary giants not paying off, ces’t la vie.
    Publish and be damned.

    Mhor

Comments are closed.