(June) Radio Days

After a quick end of May’s summer weather (sarcasm)..

running well late with this one, folks…..

June turned out to be not too bad considering the amount of water that has fallen from the sky, the local hills I wander are at winter levels of boginess or to be more honest, boggier. A wet summer may mean a dryish winter ? The weather forecasters keep promising us an ‘Indian summer‘ most years, I hope for once they get it right if only to ‘dry’ up the hillsides.

One activation to report, an ascent of  Beinn Narnain which although most enjoyable turned out to be a wet, claggy day on a rocky summit, blog post HERE. One STS (summit to summit) to report with fellow PARC  member Craig HCF who was on nearby Ben Donich. I decided to be a fair weather activator in future as I picked my way off the rocky summit. Craig had later shown me  a photo he had taken of a cloud seemingly static over Narnain and the nearby Cobbler.

Narnain summit from Beinn Ime

Narnain summit from Beinn Ime

Chasing…

Another exceptional month in which I made contact from varying places in the local area as well as home and I started off at the trig point on Lurg Moor (NS 303737) on the first Sunday of the month, first in the log was the aforementioned Craig HCF who was to the NW and in line of sight on the summit of Beinn Ime.  Another three contacts were made that day which was enjoyable just lazing in the sun, a double chase from Robin PKT as he did the adjacent pair of munros at the east end of Glencoe, Meall a’Bhuiridh and Creise. Finally that day was Jim GLM who appeared on Stronend. I also spoke to both Neil 2MØNCM who was on Saugh Hill in South Ayrshire and Graeme 2MØGIL on Dumgoyne to my NE, both non Marilyns.

From home the next day, Stewart STU whom I know from work turned up on both of Crainlarich’s high points, Ben More and Stobinnean whilst Robin PKT was on Bidean nam Bian,  Glen Coe‘s highest summit. Is it Glen Coe or Glencoe ?

The next day, Jack COX did a ridge walk and I bagged him on Beinn Chabhair and An Caisteal while Robin PKT popped up again on Creag Meagaidh 114 kms to the N of me.

The following weekend only one contact to report, Robin PKT on Beinn Chlaonleud in the Morvern area.

Looking NW from Lurg Moor Trig Point

Looking NW from Lurg Moor Trig Point

Seven days later I worked Craig HCF as a STS (summit to summit) whilst I was under cloud and rain on Beinn Narnain , both these weekends had not been the best weather wise.

On the day of my Largs trip/walk Jim GLM popped up whilst I was on the summit of Dunrod Hill, Jim was on Auchnafree Hill to the N of Crieff, a good contact on the handie and 2 watts. Robin PKT popped up the next day on two of the Rannoch biggies,  Beinn an Dothaidh and the iconic Beinn Dorain, one I must pencil in for the future.

The following day, Colwyn YCJ popped up on Meall Nan Tarmachan in the Lawers range on a wet and windy evening.

Meall Nan Tarmachan summit

Meall Nan Tarmachan summit

Finally this month ended with Robin appearing on Na Maoilean in the Benderloch area and two days later on  Beinn Chapull and the tongue twister Tom an t-Saighdeir.

A busy and varying month and a few points banked as I head for my 2,000th  chaser point.

HF…

Still the daily visit to the data modes but propagation once again was mostly in or out so time spent on the bands was limited. PSK and JT65 were modes of choice.

Other…

I had read about the use of TV dongles as SDR (Software Defined Radio) and how this was being adapted on these relatively cheap ‘dongles’. I sent for one and I have written a blog post with my first experiences with one HERE.

I just posted images of bright sunny days to brighten up the so far glaury days of Aug, click on them to see in full size…

My thanks once again to the resources of Wikipedia and Peakbagger.

About gm7something

Very early 60's, married, three kids......overweight, unfit, folically challenged, need I go on ?
This entry was posted in Musings. Bookmark the permalink.