(April) Radio Days………

Once again, I’m running late with these monthly round ups. This time of year is a busy time not only radio wise but in other things esp with the improving weather and as I write this we are in the midst of a heat wave with possible water restrictions being mentioned. Long may it continue, the rain to fill the lochs can fall overnight. One useful side effect is that the dreaded midge is taking its time to appear in numbers and this is one side effect that we want to definitely continue .

SOTA….

I did my first activation of the year on the nearby 2 pointer, the Hill Of Stake. I was later than I normally am as this is one hill in which I usually grab the winter bonus. Four STS’s (summit to summit) on the day, one NW to Sidhean Na Raplaich in the Morvern area, one to the NE Carleatheran, 5 mile to the SW of me to Blaeloch Hill and finally one to Muckish Mountain in the Derryveagh Mountains in Donegal. A total of 15 contacts on both 4m and 2m FM. Blog post HERE

Meall Nan Tarmachan summit

Meall Nan Tarmachan summit

Chasing…

The month started off with a bang as I worked first fellow blogger Graeme 2MØGIL who was in the Lawers area on Meall Nan Tarmachan then quickly following was Robin PKT who was to the west of Graeme on Beinn Chaorach in the Tyndrum area. Next in the log that day was Bob AWV who activated Ben Bowie on the opposite bank of the river estuary to me, I scanned the hill and summit with binoculars but could see nothing. Neil 2MØNCM was next to appear on Meall an Fhudair, his first hill of the day, I was later to work him on a smaller hill Beinn Damhain. A good start to the month and definitely not an April’s Fool day.

Five days later, Adrian DHY was to turn up on the aforementioned Meall Nan Tarmachan, a hill I would recommend plus not much later that afternoon Gerald AQU appeared on the tongue-twister Beinn Bhreac-liath (the speckled grey hill), Scots Gaelic is such a poetic language, the hill is to the N of Tyndrum. Just as an aside, there are 11 Beinn Bhreac’s ‘in the ‘Marilyns’ list and our previous mentioned one’ -liath’ would make it twelve, the most popular name in the entire list.

Two days later on what was a miserable cloudy day, Gerald AQU appeared on Beinn Odhar another Corbett in the Tyndrum area whilst our good friend Neil 2MØNCM was ascending Beinn Bhuidhe from Glen Fyne, another Munro to his collection.

The following weekend, I worked Robin PKT on Meall Buidhe not on the usual 2m FM but this time on 6m SSB before I set out on a local walk where I heard and worked Bob AWV on Beinn Lagan.

The following Saturday, Jack COX was just to the N of me on Beinn Dubh whilst the following day, I caught four STS from the Hill of Stake ( see above)…

The last weekend of the month finished as it started with first working Bob AWV on Corse Hill, Robin PKT on Beinn Fhionnlaidh in the Glen Etive (or Glen Creran as it depends from where you access the hill) and finally that day, Jack COX appeared on The Stob.  The following day I worked Robin PKT this time on Beinn Leamhain followed by Graeme 2MØGIL on the Brack in the Arrochar area and finally to close out the month, Jim GLM on Beinn Dearg.

A very busy month indeed….

Other miscellaneous …

Occasionally working the HF data modes mostly JT65, PSK and on occasion, WSPR. The sunspot cycle isn’t hitting the heady heights yet but I’ll keep monitoring the higher frequencies for openings.I now have a 4m FM mobile radio which I am hoping to rig up in the shack but more to the point it is down to the choice of antenna I decide to use with it…

Sorbus Aucuparia growing in the top of a fence post

Sorbus Aucuparia growing in the top of a fence post

Still scanning the VHF and UHF bands but not much activity to report, I take my wee Baofeng dual band handie out on my local walks but mostly PMR traffic with the odd use of the 2m and 70cm FM frequencies.

I’m still using the 5 ele yagi beam at home when needed for chasing, I can set it up and get on air in about 8 mins and drop and pack it away in much less. Very handy !!!

No visits this month to the local hills but I look forward to when I do…..

Walking…

Still plodding away trying to build up my fitness and enjoying taking in the sights and smells

( farms!!) of the local area. I’ve set high totals for myself and are achieving them.

One other bit of news to pass on, I have been reluctantly accepted into the Second Class Operators Club (SOC), a fine recognition for my poor radio operating skills and I am now SOC #1008, I’m pleased to be a member of such a mediocre bunch. More Info HERE

This month’s nostalgia bit…

My personalised Alfa Tango card from 11m days (I’ve digitally removed the P.O.Box number just in case)…I used Bob as it was easy to do phonetically and in some of pile ups, the shorter the better but the AT group issued an excellent directory of all members annually so the information was there.

Bob AT 459

Bob AT 459

My thanks go to all the linked content esp Wikipedia and Peakbagger.

Till next month, slainthe mhath !!!

About gm7something

Very early 60's, married, three kids......overweight, unfit, folically challenged, need I go on ?
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.