(May) Radio Days

May….

VHF

Not much activity on VHF due to spending more time listening on HF. Worked a couple of local stations over the month.

SOTA activity for May.

The ‘International SOTA Weekend’ took place over the weekend of Saturday the 1st and Sunday the 2nd of the month but due to logistics, I only ‘chased’ at home.

On the 1st, I ‘chased’ Ken and Christine,  GM0 and GM4 stations who were on top of a very windy nearby Hill of Stake, I then worked Roddy who had activated Ben Lomond along with Patsy, both 2M0 respectively. I later had spoken with Roddy as they descended the Ptarmigan Ridge. The weather for the Sunday kept most activators off the hill but  Barry MM0 made the trip through to also activate Ben Lomond or as it is known locally here as ‘the Ben’.

Looking south from the summit of Ben Lomond

Looking south from the summit of Ben Lomond

The following weekend saw Robin, GM7, tackle two summits on the Sat, Beinn a’Bheithir – Sgorr Dhonuill and its sister top,  Sgour Dearg. The same day, Allan, a MM1 was activating one of my favourites, Beinn a’Mhanaich. The next weekend, Robin GM7 was once again active on Meall Nan Tarmachan, I made the contact on 50 mhz SSB, as you will see, I also activated this summit on the last day of the month. On the 22nd , I made the trip to Corlic and used my HF vertical and contacted Barry, GM4 on Geal Charn and soon after, Allan, MM1 on Carn Mor Dearg both on 60m SSB.

Meall nan Gabhar

Meall nan Gabhar

On the Sunday,  Cat and Neil 2M0NCM made the trip to activate a ‘virgin’ summit Meall Mor, I had taken to my local hill and had spoken to Neil from there. On the following Sunday, Neil travelled N to the shadow of Ben Lui to activate another ‘virgin’ summit, Meall Nan Gabhar.
Finally, on the last day of the month, Euan and myself made the journey and activated Meall Nan Tarmachan, there are blog posts regarding my trip to Corlic, Auchinleck Hill and the activation of Meall Nan Tarmachan.

UHF…

An occasional listen of the 70cm band but nothing heard.

HF….

Made over 120 contacts on data over the month. The usual European, Asiatic and the odd gem like Senegal.

New DXCC entities worked were Japan and the Aland Islands.

ODDS…

Spent more time listening on HF this month, the ATU is working fine and has enabled the use of more bands, I now have to move myself and put up a ‘stealth’ dipole using my loft space, outside wall and then running down my garden fence, not ideal but will save the ‘throwing’ up of the Inverted Vee when I operate.

Meall Nan Gabhar photo @all rights reserved 2M0NCM, Neil

