(April) Radio Days

VHF…

Quiet month, a few QSO’s with Graham across the Clyde and Roddy from Gourock, some rise in activity on 2m noted.

VHF SOTA activity for April.

Heading home ( Beinn a'Mhanaich )

Excelled myself with 3 SOTA activations in the past month, firstly, a return visit to Beinn a’Mhanaich then six days later, a return to Beinn Chaorach and finally a new hill for me,  Meikle Bin in the Carron Valley area.
I started each activation calling on 4M FM, I made two contacts on each of the activations, I’m hopeful by the end of this activating summer, I will have firstly activated a hill with the first four contacts needed using 4m FM.
The weather conditions for each hill varied, a’Mhanaich was breezy but sunny, Chaorach was done in bright sunshine but Meikle Bin was covered in cloud with occasional rain. I made a total of 28 contacts from the tops, one highlight was a 4m FM contact into North Wales, a vertical to vertical 4 watt (each way) to John, who was using a GC0 callsign, this was approx 322 kms (200 mls) as the crow flies, an excellent contact. In all activations, I had 4 STS (summit to summit) contacts, Neil, 2M0NCM on Craiglee (Ayrshire), Bob MM1 on Conic Hill (Lomondside), Ian on Cademuir Hill (Peebleshire) and finally, as mentioned above John on Tal Y Fan in North Wales. 

Looking SW from ascent of Chaorach

Check out the ‘Oot’n’Aboot’ tag to see the reports on each of the three activations.
I also added ‘chaser’ points by firstly contacting Robin, GM7 on Beinn Odhar ( this contact was on 6m SSB) and later in the month, on Meall Corranaich. Next was Graeme 2M0GIL on Ben Challum and as before, near the end of the month from Beinn Dearg. Graeme’s blog posts for these hills <HERE>

UHF…

once again, I gave out an occasional call but nothing heard.

HF…

I was not as active HF’wise in April but I’m still working some PSK31 on 20m but now venturing now onto 30m and 17m, 20m is still the most reliable under the present conditions. New DXCC countries were UK Sovereign Cyprus and Turkey. Propagation seems in and out after the improving conditions of the previous months (or I’m missing the good DX !)

ODDS..

New ATU so more bands will looked at. The weather is becoming more summery so I’ll be activating more outdoors, if not SOTA then the local hills will be used. I keep promising to do some HF portable.

I will quite probably come back and edit this post or add more, keep a wee check.

Comments are most welcome on any blog post, any hints or tips would be most welcome on any of the posts.


About gm7something

64, married, three kids......overweight, unfit, folically challenged, need I go on ?
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.