Kaboom…..

I had arrived home from work yesterday and whilst I was poodling about, I fired up the radio and was monitoring kaboomS20(145.500) when kaboom! my power supply unit blew up in a spectacular way. The bang, accompanied by a short blue flash had everyone wondering what had happened, I firstly removed the power supply cable off the radio then I checked the 897 to see if any damage had been done, luckily everything seemed okay. I have since sent the power supply unit back under warranty, hopefully I’ll get up and running soon. I used the 817 last night and tonight I have only had the handheld on in case someone calls. It is something I never do but it proves you should never leave the power supply unit ‘on’ when you are not in vicinity, there was no flames or sparks but it has been known to happen.

