A Visit to Creuch Hill

Packed the equipment and headed through Greenock taking what is termed the ‘Old Largs Road’, a narrow single track road over the moors between Greenock and Largs. I got dropped off at NS 251678 and headed NE, a rough quad track is there for the first half of the journey but is taken through possibly the wettest areas on the hill, I skirted away from the track and headed upwards towards the old ruined ‘sheepfold’ ( not shown on the OS map), the wind was strong as I headed over to the Trig Point, I took a pic of the Trig ruins, see photo. It had taken me approx 50 mins to ascend.

Creuch Hill is 441m or 1446ft ASL, it is shown online as Inverclyde’s highest point.
I set up in the west side of the hill due to quite a brisk wind coming from the SE. I first looked through the 2m FM frequencies and noted how quiet it was. I called and hooked up with Roddy, a 2M0 station who was mobile and heading to ‘walk’ his dog along the Greenock Cut , I spoke with Roddy on a few occasions during my short time on the hill, I called on 145.500 (S20) and found no takers, I scanned and noted an G station working the RSGB Backpackers Contest but not strong enough to go back to, I later heard him taking to an Irish station.
I made contact with Barrie, a GM0 station from Dumbarton and the regulars Brian, a MM0 station in Howwood and John, a MM1 station from Glasgow.

I decided that I would return back to base and arranged to picked up around 2.30ish. I caught Robin, GM7/P, a regular name on this blog, Robin was activiating SOTA summit Beinn Na Cille , signal strength both ways was 59, superb considering the distance between us. Robin then left to go to another frequency.
I spoke next with Roddy and then decided to break down the station, whilst doing this I saw my XYL appearing at the lay by, I , of course, had got my times mixed up, nevertheless I descended in just over 25 mins and headed home, slightly disappointed that the band was so quiet.

Photos :

Top – Looking North
Bottom – Trig Point remanis

About gm7something

64, married, three kids......overweight, unfit, folically challenged, need I go on ?
This entry was posted in Oot'n'Aboot and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.