Corlic Visit, Portable 15/2/09


Weather looked as if it would clear so headed towards Corlic Hill, south of Greenock, hill is slightly under 1000ft ASL, highest point in the Inverclyde area. Walked in from an electricity substation on the road from Greenock to Kilmacolm, slightly over 1ml walk to summit over wet, boggy hilly terrain. Made good time and reached summit in just 40 plus minutes, set up station just slightly below summit due to windy conditions, called out on S20, first contact was a GM0 station in Dunlop, Ayrshire , signal reports were 5×3 for me, he was approx the same…
Next contact was a MM0 station in Newarthill, Lanarkshire, his signal was strong and gave me a 5×8 signal at this end. After this contact, listened in to S20 and then spoke to a 2M0 station from Paisley who was 5×9 with the same recorded for myself.
Just as I was leaving the summit, I contacted a GM4/P station, Robert who was activating a SOTA summit Tinto Hill his signal was estimated 5×8 at times, he gave me 5×7 and was his first contact as he had just set up station, there was another station activating a SOTA hill to the north west but I never heard him.

I listened to the GM4/P station on Tinto Hill most of the way home until he QSY’ed to 2m SSB.
I just walked home via the Knocknairshill and Harelaw Dams above Port Glasgow, headed east towards the golf course and made for home down the farm track. Nice day for a walk, approx 10 trail bikers were working the hills above Greenock, passed them a couple of times and a dog followed me home from the Harelaw, I found out later on that this dog was one of the local farm dogs.
Reached home and went up to the radio and worked the MM0 station, Newarthill and GM4/P on Tinto Hill on 2m SSB, a good end to the day.

Photos :
Top : Looking W towards Dunrod Hill and Argyllshire
Bottom : Kilcreggan peninsula and Gareloch

